I was gifted a copy of My Soul To Wake in exchange for my honest review. I give This book 4 stars!

WOW! Tara Oaks, you amaze me! After reading the The Kingsmen MC Series, I was surprised to learn that the plot of this book is completely different. Witchcraft, historical fiction and romance all wrapped into one.  I was a little skeptical at first, but I dove right in!

Leah has been plagued with nightmares since she could remember. She could never experience a sleepover as a young girl, or a sleepover as an adult 😉 After her two best friends, Nina and Courtney, persuade her to go on a girls getaway in Salem, Massachusetts, her nightmares turn into “scenes” from a long ago time. She meets Will and instantly feels a connection that she has never felt before. After a series of strange and unnerving events take place that all thrust her into the arms of this man, she learns from him why their pull is so strong. But is Will crazy, or do they really share a connection that dates back 300 years?

What I loved most about this book was the “dreams” or flashbacks into the history of witchcraft. Tara has given this book two strong lead characters that you can instantly connect with. What I didn’t love so much was how quickly Will told his story to Leah. I felt like because they only knew each other for a few days, that kind of story should have sent Leah running for the hills. I wish there was a little more to their romance. However, I was constantly thinking that I had the story figured out, when in fact it took a different turn! I couldn’t put it down! The ending was a HUGE surprise and I cannot wait to read the next one!

-Amber

 

